Blog Post #2,540

“Thank you, dear God, for this good life and forgive us if we do not love it enough” (Garrison Keillor).

It doesn’t seem real that I’ve written over 2,500 blog posts in nearly 7 years. That averages out to just about one per day.

It’s been a good discipline to attempt to write something every day. Granted, some days are easier than others, and some days I don’t got nothing.

I can look back over seven years and realize just how much has transpired since that very first blog post back in 2010. I lost my job and went through a lengthy job transition before finding my current position. I had to say a final goodbye (I like to think of it more as a goodbye for now) to my beloved cat Lucy and welcomed little Peanut into my world.

I’m still driving a Jeep Cherokee, though not the same one that I had back in 2010. This one is two years newer and has power windows and locks (which you probably take for granted until you don’t have them then they become very much appreciated).

I feel like I’ve grown in grace quite a bit in these seven years. I know that I am certainly more thankful than I was then. It’s not that I necessarily have more than I did, but I’m much more grateful for what I have and a lot less apt to take things and people for granted than I was.

I can’t wait to see what the next seven years bring. I know God will be just as faithful and true to His promises as He’s been up until now. God willing, I will be able to keep you updated on all my latest shenanigans and wisdom.

“Some luck lies in not getting what you thought you wanted but getting what you have, which once you have got it you may be smart enough to see is what you would have wanted had you known” (Garrison Keillor).

Leave a Reply

