Thanks for All the Love

“I’ll love you forever. I’ll love you for always.
As long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be.”

The memory will be forever etched in my heart. I sang these words over you and stroked your little head as you slipped away across the rainbow bridge. You took a piece of my heart when you left.

I miss you so much already that my heart hurts.

I will always miss the way you always made a beeline toward me when I sat on the couch. You’d jump up in my lap, curl up, and go to sleep. You were such a great comfort to me for all those 17 years.

I will always miss the way you slept on the pillow next to mine, snoring softly and keeping me company during the night.

I will always miss how you’d purr when I picked you up and held you like a baby. I’d give every single thing I owned for a chance to do that just one more time.

I will always miss your quiet presence, how you were always nearby. Even when I took my shower in the morning, you were always waiting for me just outside the bathroom door.

I will always miss the feel of your little paw in my hand when we held hands and you squeezed your eyes to show deep contentment.

I thank God that He gave me 8 more years with you after you survived an earlier bout with cancer. I guess this time we ran out of miracles, huh? I know that I don’t regret a single day with you and I’d go through every single bit of it again tomorrow, even the hardest parts like today.

I know you don’t want me to be sad forever. I know you’d want me to find another furry baby for all the love inside, never to take your place but to honor your memory that lives forever within my heart.

You will always be my baby and I will always love you. I will look for you when I too cross that rainbow bridge one day. Until then, I will see you in my dreams and thank God for you every single day for the rest of my life.

 

Leave a Reply

