Go Preds: Why I Love the Underdogs

I think I’d root for the Nashville Predators right now even if I weren’t living in Nashville. There’s just something about the underdog that makes me want to pull for them, even if the odds against them seem insurmountable.

I believe that God has a special place in His heart for underdogs. You really see it when you look at the birth narrative. The ones chosen to be first to witness the incarnate God in the flesh, Jesus, weren’t the high-ranking religious leaders or the well-to-do in-crowd-ers.

It was some smelly shepherds keeping watch over their flocks in the dead of night whom God appointed to be the first witnesses of Immanuel. They were the first evangelists who immediately took the news of Jesus and speed it everywhere they went.

I’d love to see the Preds win the Stanley Cup. Regardless of what happens from here, I think they’ve served the city of Nashville and their fans proud by the way they’ve persevered and overcome so much already.

I’m thankful that God still loves the outcasts and unwanted and underdogs of the world. There’s no one that God cannot love, that God cannot rescue, that God cannot save to the uttermost. I know because I was one of them. Maybe you were, too.

So I say, “Go Preds!” and “Go God!”

 

 

One thought on “Go Preds: Why I Love the Underdogs

Leave a Reply

