Learning to Breathe

“Readiness for God means that we are prepared to do the smallest thing or the largest thing—it makes no difference. It means we have no choice in what we want to do, but that whatever God’s plans may be, we are there and ready” (Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest).

I think we are being programmed to rush and stress and worry. The classic definition of stress is that everything has to happen right now. Nothing can wait or be delayed. It all has to be now.

I get caught up in the frenzy from time to time and let worry get the upper hand. After all, you only slow down when you’re sick, and then not even all that much.

Tonight at Kairos, I was reminded that God has a much bigger and broader time table than me and my own plans. God’s designs and timing for me are not only far better than whatever I could conceive, they’re perfect.

I think my obedience sometimes looks like faithfulness in the small details as much as the grand gestures for God. It’s me e getting up and showing up every day and not giving up but growing up.

Here we are, God, ready and willing for whatever’s next.

 

Leave a Reply

