Take Up Your Cross

“Jesus called the crowd together with His disciples, and said to them, “If anyone wishes to follow Me [as My disciple], he must deny himself [set aside selfish interests], and take up his cross [expressing a willingness to endure whatever may come] and follow Me [believing in Me, conforming to My example in living and, if need be, suffering or perhaps dying because of faith in Me]. For whoever wishes to save his life [in this world] will [eventually] lose it [through death], but whoever loses his life [in this world] for My sake and the gospel’s will save it [from the consequences of sin and separation from God]” (Mark 9:34-35, Amplified Bible).

Don’t get me wrong. I do love me some social media. I love being able to connect with new people and reconnect with old friends that I haven’t seen in years.

I also have noticed lately that social media has a way of turning people more and more myopic and narcissistic. It becomes all about “me and my,” as in my life, my spouse, my family, my home, my career, etc.

I’ve also noticed that people can very easily become thin-skinned and defensive if there is even a perceived threat or criticism of how they behave or talk.

I confess I’m guilty of being way too inward focused. The old saying about humility remains true– it’s not thinking less of yourself but thinking of yourself less.

Jesus’ call to take up the cross and follow remains as true as ever. That’s the only true way to find yourself and what you were meant for — namely, by losing yourself and your preconceived notions of how your life should go. By losing the notion that you are in control of your own destiny.

I hope that my life’s purpose will echo the call of John the Baptist– that I must decrease so that Jesus may increase and be glorified and magnified in my life more and more with every day that passes.

 

Leave a Reply

