Wednesday, January 11, 2017

It’s Wednesday, January 11, 2017. I’m so tired that I originally typed that it was Thursday. It’s not.

My traveling music adventures continued today as I chose Gillian Welch and her new album to accompany me on my homeward trek. Yesterday, the choice was the lovely Norah Jones. I’m keeping it mellow.

All the continued rhetoric over the election is making me tired. I don’t know how  praising one side and bashing the other has ever really changed anyone’s mind. All it does is further polarize and alienate us from each other.

I’m thankful that my ultimate allegiance is not to this or any other President. It’s not to a flag or a country or a platform, but to a King and a Kingdom that will last well beyond any President or Congress or Supreme Court. It will last forever.

In these hectic, crazy days, it’s helpful to sit still for a bit and practice breathing in and out slowly, remembering that because of the resurrection, the worst thing is never the last thing. Every trial is temporary and all pain is passing. The Prince of Peace and what He brings will be eternal.

So chill out. If you must err, err on the side of grace and forgiveness rather than judgment and condemnation. Remember that each of us is walking a difficult path.

I still believe that if you want to see difference in your life and in the world around you, you have to be the difference. Once you start doing that, you won’t have time to snipe and criticize from the sidelines.

As always, keep the music recommendations coming. I’m alway on the lookout for good new (or old) music to add to my already ridiculous collection.

Thanks and good night!

 

 

Leave a Reply

