More About Music

So far, I’ve had my share of good Christmas music to help me cope with all my commutes to and from work, church, and other places.

I’ve made it through The Nutcracker and Handel’s Messiah, as well as Christmas compilations by Bing Crosby and Elvis Presley.

I took a small break from all the holiday tunes with some Waylon & Willie. In case you are uninformed about all things classic country music, that’s Waylon Jennings and Willie Nelson, both whose body of work is astounding and legendary. They collaborated on a 1978 album that is the epitome of everything country music should be. At least in my humble opinion.

If you think that country music doesn’t go any further back than the 2000’s or if you think that bro-country is real country, try this album. It might change your mind.

I could just about listen to it on repeat for days. I actually did play it through twice today on my various trips. It’s that good.

Listen to the music that makes your heart happy. Listen to what makes you come alive — even if it’s Florida Georgia Line. Branch out from what you’re familiar with and try different types of music, even stuff that’s off the top 40 radar. I promise you won’t regret it.

And now I will go back to my regularly scheduled Christmas music.

 

Leave a Reply

