Words of Affirmation

I got ordained as a deacon tonight at The Church at Avenue South.

I don’t say that in any way to brag or make much of myself.

The reason I brought this up is that one of the most beautiful and meaningful parts of the service for me was when all of us prospective deacons sat in chairs at the front and people came and laid hands on us and prayed for us. I’ve never felt so encouraged and affirmed in my entire life.

I really do think that often people see good and positive things in us that we can’t see in ourselves. What every one of us needs is for some of those people to call out those good and positive things they see in us.

Words of affirmation can be powerful and healing. The person giving them is saying in essence, “I see and affirm you and what you are doing. Your work will not go unnoticed or in vain because I see it.”

There will be a time in every single person’s life when they question whether they’ve contributed anything of significance or whether their existence has added anything of value and meaning to the world.

Even the smallest words of affirmation can completely transform someone’s day or week (or even their entire life).

That’s my challenge to you. Who needs to hear your words of affirmation? Who are those around you struggling through difficult seasons who may not be able to see their true value unless you call it out into them?

I do believe that we as believers can speak life and healing into the lives of those around us. Words have tremendous power either to harm or to heal, which is why it’s vitally important to choose them carefully and not be too hasty to speak harshly or out of anger.

Choose words of affirmation. You never know but you might just save someone’s life.

 

Leave a Reply

