I Need A Little Handel’s Messiah

I need a little Handel’s Messiah right about now.

I’m recalling a conversation with someone at my workplace revolving around the wildfires that raged through parts of East Tennessee, including Gatlinburg. The gist of the conversation is that the fires burned so hot that they literally melted the aluminum rims off the trucks and cars there.

That’s hot enough that any people caught up in it would have been incinerated.

That means that some of those missing people will never be found. There’s nothing left to find but possibly some ashes.

I can’t even begin to comprehend. I can’t begin to fathom how I’d cope if one of those missing people was one of my parents or my sister or any of my nephews or niece.

I need a little Handel’s Messiah right about now.

I need to be reminded that at the darkest point in human history, God intervened. He didn’t send a 12-step program (as good and useful as those are) or a self-help manual. He sent Himself. He sent Emmanuel, forever God is with us.

Handel’s Messiah is perhaps one of the few perfect pieces of music in existence. At times, it comes as close as these ears will ever get to heaven’s music. Plus, its straight Scripture set to music, so truly how bad can it be?

I remember a long time ago at Ridgeway Baptist Church, I was able to be a part of a choir singing the Hallelujah Chorus. I seriously doubt that it’s a mortal sin if you stay seated during that song, but once you really grasp that this Emmanuel will reign forever and ever, you just about can’t help but stand up.

The odds are very much against me making it through the entire Messiah, but I’ll get as far as I can before sleepiness takes over.

And yes, I know I am a major music nerd, but I can’t help that I love great works of art, particularly of the musical kind.

 

Leave a Reply

