Who Will You Serve?

“If you decide that you’re not willing to serve Him, then today is the day for you to choose whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors bowed to in the land beyond the great River, or the gods of the Amorites whose country you possess. But as for me and my family, we will serve the Eternal” (Joshua 24:15, The Voice).

In case you’ve been living under a rock for the last year, there’s a Presidential election happening as we speak.

Some of you are in an increasingly festive mood. Some are growing more and more despondent as the numbers continue to roll in. Just about all of you are ready for this whole mess to be over and done with, regardless of the outcome.

But as I mentioned in my last post, no matter how this election plays out, Jesus will be the Sovereign King of Kings and Lord of Lords. That will not change. Not now, not in four years, not in eight, not ever.

The question that will arise in the morning (and every morning after that) is this: Who will you serve? Will it be the gods of political parties and platforms? Will it be the gods of success and power? Will it be the gods of relationships?

Even good things like marriage, family, and children can become idols if they become the “be all, end all” reason for your existence.

Bob Dylan got it right when he said, “You’re gonna have to serve somebody.” Who will it be?

The beautiful part about God is that He will not force you or anyone else to serve Him. He will not coerce you to bow down before Him in this lifetime.

Today, I choose to serve Yahweh. I don’t profess perfect service in the past. I don’t promise to hold fast in the future. I know myself too well for that. But for today, I choose to serve the Maker of heaven and earth.

Tomorrow, whether I did well or failed miserably, I get to choose again. So will all of you.

So again I ask, who will you serve?

 

Leave a Reply

