Slouching Toward 3,000 Blog Posts

I had all these amazing and wonderful ideas for blog posts earlier in the day, but then sleepiness happened and here we are. I’m essentially making this stuff up as I go along tonight. Don’t expect too much inspired genius from me on this Tuesday, November 1, 2016 at 10:37 pm.

First of all, I can’t even believe it’s November. Especially when it’s in the upper 80’s outside during the day. Dad-gumit, I want some authentic fall weather!

I read something that made me chortle out loud. It basically said, “Some days I feel like I’m in shape, and some days I feel like a busted can of biscuits.” I’m sure 99.9% of you just related to that last sentence. The other .1% are lying to yourselves. Both of you.

I’ve decided that while I consider myself an orthodox believer, my ideas about God have been too small and too narrow. For me, that hasn’t been so much on the theological side of things but rather in the experiential arena.

Often, I don’t pray big enough because I don’t really believe big enough. Do I really believe that God is bigger than what I’m facing? Do I really believe God wants what’s best for me? Do I believe God can accomplish what’s best for me?

If I’m honest, I might profess it with my mouth but deny it in day-to-day living, day-to-day worrying, day-to-day doubting.

God is more than a benign teddy bear figure or a crazy older relative or a cosmic law enforcer or a celestial genie in a bottle. He is the Lord Almighty that caused Isaiah both to see himself to say both, “I am a man of unclean lips living among a people of unclean lips.” and “Here I am. Send me.” I’m still trying to wrap my head around all that God is (and probably will for the rest of eternity).

As far as feeling like that busted can of biscuits, might I suggest more celery and less Halloween candy? Just a thought.

 

Leave a Reply

