Another Sunday Come and Gone

It was a very pleasant Sunday. No, it wasn’t what I think of as an idyllic Autumn day in October, but it was good enough for me.

The fact that I woke up this morning trumps a lot of little negatives. Being alive makes every day a great one. Waking up each day is a privilege and a gift that too many take for granted until you lose someone close to you.

Today, I was in charge of the slides for the worship songs and sermon notes for The Church at Avenue South. I’m always nervous when it’s my turn, but I always get through it. I try to make it my spiritual act of worship and hope that I will do a good enough job so that no one will notice. That means that the service goes smoothly, in case you’re wondering.

I love to sit at the back and hear so many voices joined in collective worship. It’s one of the most beautiful sounds that rises like incense in the ears of Almighty God.

Blessings are found by those who are paying attention and not constantly looking down at their smart phones. It all starts with the right perspective.

So it was a good Sunday. Was it a little warmer than I like it for October? Perhaps. Still, it’s a lot better than sweating through 95 degree heat with ridiculous humidity. See? It’s all a matter of perspective.

I’m still hoping for more crisp days with temps in the mid-60’s. I can’t wait for opportunities to wear flannel and stand in front of bonfires with hot dogs and s’mores. Still, I take what I can get as long as God gives me more days to be alive.

Hey, even Mondays can be good if you have the right outlook.

 

Leave a Reply

