Going Old-School

I’ve been on an old-school music kick lately, and the trend continued over the weekend. Among the music I had playing in the Jeep as I travelled were George Jones, Marty Robbins, Chet Atkins and Les Paul, Earl Scruggs, and Kris Kristofferson. That’s real country music.

I’m not opposed to new music. I’ve simply discovered that 99.9% of it doesn’t speak to my soul the way the old stuff does. Honestly, I really can’t find anyone who can emote heartbreak in a song the way George Jones did. Or sing cowboy songs the way Marty Robbins did.

Most people will be content to turn on the radio and go with whatever’s playing. That’s all fine and wonderful, but that’s not me. I’m a little more deliberate when it comes to my music.

As always, I’m open to suggestions about what I need to add to my musical playlist for my lengthy commutes. The older, the better. Also, I’m all for finding the artists that aren’t as well known.

Thanks again for reading these blog posts, even when they’re last minute, “couldn’t think of anything else to write about” posts. As I’ve mentioned before, it’s not always easy to come up with something fresh and original when you write these posts every day. Plus, you do know that my mind works in strange and mysterious ways.

 

 

One thought on “Going Old-School

Leave a Reply

