Perspective

“How my eyes see, perspective, is my key to enter into His gates. I can only do so with thanksgiving. If my inner eye has God seeping up through all things, then can’t I give thanks for anything? And if I can give thanks for the good things, the hard things, the absolute everything, I can enter the gates to glory. Living in His presence is fullness of joy- and seeing shows the way in” (Ann Voskamp).

That’s it.

It’s all about perspective.

It’s all about giving thanks and being grateful.

It’s all about living in the present, thankful for what you have instead of envious and bitter over what you don’t.

God is always present to those who know where (and how ) to look. Those with open hands of both receiving and releasing of surrender, not with clenched fists that grasp and clutch.

Gratitude is a choice that I must make every single day. Every day I get, I must choose to pursue joy and peace and patience and kindness and gentleness and self-control. For me, it’s not a “have to” as much as it is a “get to.”

Not that I always do. Some days, I let fear win. I let anxiety and envy win. It’s easy to do when you listen to all the other voices around you instead of the Still Small voice inside you. The voice of your Abba that sees past your scars and still calls you Beloved.

But each new day is a chance to choose again and make a new beginning.

So, make Monday count. Buck the trend that says that Mondays have to be horrible and bad because they’re Mondays. Even Mondays can be good if you choose gratitude and thanksgiving.

That’s what I’m choosing tomorrow. That’s what I hope I’ll choose every day after that.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. Reblogged this on Call to Witness and commented:
    Contentment is the key to a joyful and full life. This is achieved when we realize the things that we have are all from God. Since what we have is from Him and everything that He gives is good, then there is no need for us to pursue any other things.
    We live in a world that does not the difference between a want and a need. It claims things that are really wants as needs; and when we do not get what we want, thinking that we need it, we become upset and envious when we see others have what we want.
    Each day, we must make the choice. Do we listen to the voice of God and be satisfied with His provision; or do we pursue the wants that the world says that we need? Let us daily ponder the costs if we choose the later rather than the former, for I believe the cost to following the world is far too steep. Therefore, I will choose to be thankful to my God.

  2. Hi there,
    I just happened upon your blog, and this post reminds me a lot of what I’ve been writing about lately as well. It doesn’t matter what our circumstances are, our perspective will determine how we come out of the situation we are in. We may hate our job, but if we approach it every day with gratefulness for not being unemployed, suddenly it isn’t as miserable as it was when we weren’t focusing on gratefulness. And it’s about choosing. Choosing gratefulness, joy, love and kindness. Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

