Trying Something New (to Me)

doctors

I’m a little late to the party, but I’ve finally watched my first few episodes of Doctor Who. I’m only 50 years late, give or take a few years.

I’ve heard about time-lords and the TARDIS and daleks and so forth. Doctor Who is almost considered royalty when it comes to serious fans of sci-fi.

My goal (at least up until tonight ) was to find a way to watch every single episode from the very beginning up to the present. That lofty goal has apparently been thwarted by the knowledge that many of the early episodes were lost and/or destroyed and no longer exist. That’s according to what I read on the highly-accurate inter webs.

Maybe my newly-modified goal is to watch episodes of Doctor Who with all the different actors playing the title character. That should be doable, I think.

I just need to figure out how to buy/rent/steam/locate these episodes. Any advice is certainly welcome at this point.

So far, I’ve only watched episodes with David Tennant and Billie Piper. I’d say the bar has been set fairly high. The special effects (particularly the CGI) seem a bit dated, but at least they’re better than a lot of the older BBC sci-fi programming that I’ve seen.

My verdict at this point is a hearty two thumbs up. I’ll keep you posted as my latest adventure into the world of classic pop culture continues.

 

Leave a Reply

