Praying Tonight

I did something I never thought I’d do. I signed up for one of those pray ’round the clock things for a friend of mine who is in critical condition in the ICU after a horrific head-on car collision on Monday.

It gets even better. I signed up for 2:30-3:00 am. I will need to set the alarm on my phone. I will also likely need the Jaws of Life to pry my eyes open at such an ungodly hour.

I’m not super-spiritual and super-sanctified. I’m doing this because I believe as strongly as ever in the power of prayer and especially in the Great Physician to whom nothing is impossible.

I’m clinging to the promise that tells me I can boldly approach the throne of grace in time of need. It won’t be because of some amazing eloquence of mine or even my utmost sincerity but my mustard seed-sized faith in the God who can move mountains, make the blind see, make the lame walk, and make the dead come alive again.

I’m praying to the God because what seems impossible to me is not even remotely difficult for Him. Just ask Lazarus.

I’m asking for all of you to pray for my friend, John Paul Moses. I’m encouraging you to pray boldly in faith for complete and miraculous healing and for a complete and total restoration of health. I don’t mean pious prayers with folded hands and sweet words but wrestling with God and clinging to the corner of His garment and not letting go until He blesses you.

If you so desire, you can sign up to pray for my friend here:

https://m.signupgenius.com/#!/showSignUp/70a0a48aaab2da75-overnight

I should probably end this so I can set my phone to alert me at 2:30. The good news is that I can go back to sleep after. The best news is that the throne of grace is always open to those in desperate need.

 

Leave a Reply

