August and Everything After

It seems like it should be later in August than it is. I don’t know why that is. Maybe it’s because I spend so much of my working day thinking ahead a week or two. Maybe it’s the not so subliminal desire for cooler temperatures  and less humidity.

One thing I’ve learned is not to waste away the present while pining for either the future or the past. The past is passed and can’t be altered. The future is unknown (and yet known to God). The best choice is to live fully in the present and to be present to each moment as it comes.

I know that I’ve complained about the heat on more than one occasion. I also know that the best way to receive the present as a gift is to live out of thanksgiving and gratitude rather than out of complaining and bitterness.

A friend of mine marked the anniversary of her dad’s passing by imploring those who read not to take their loved ones for granted. Tell the ones you love that you love them. Don’t assume they know and never presume that they don’t want or need to hear it from you.

I saw where John Saunders passes away suddenly at age 61. He was one of my favorite ESPN personalities who made watching sports fun. I hope his family members were able to tell him how much they loved him before he passed. I’m sure they will spend the next few days wishing they had told him more.

I don’t mean to be overly morbid. I do believe it’s good every now and then to be reminded of our own mortality. None of us will escape death. None of us will escape seeing those we love pass away.

The question isn’t how we will avoid it but how we will live in such a way that when our time comes we have no regrets about things we said and left unsaid, things we did and never got around to.

Jim Elliott, a famous missionary who sacrificed his life for the gospel, once said to live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God. I think that’s a very fitting way to live your life and I hope people will say that about me when they remember me after I’m gone.

Leave a Reply

