Slow Down And Just Be

“Being in a hurry. Getting to the next thing without fully entering the thing in front of me. I cannot think of a single advantage I’ve ever gained from being in a hurry. But a thousand broken and missed things, tens of thousands, lie in the wake of all the rushing…. Through all that haste I thought I was making up time. It turns out I was throwing it away” (Ann Voskamp, 1000 Gifts).

Two words: slow down.

All around me all I see is impatience. On my commute to and from work, I see that the majority of people have an extreme lack of patience and an acute inability to wait. But good things come to those who wait, as I have tested and found true over the course of my life.

You can’t rush maturity. You can’t rush healing. You can’t rush growth. All the things that are worthwhile in this life take time. There is no microwave shortcut to becoming your best self.

I’m learning how to be still and listen. I’m still not very good at it. I can’t seem to quiet my mind long enough to hear anything outside my own head sometimes. But if you can be still and silent, maybe you will hear the whisper of God over you and find healing and salvation there.

Slow down and steep yourself in as many moments as possible. Put down the social media and actually be present in your own life. See what’s around you and look for God in all the places and people around you and you will find joy and blessing there.

God still says to you and me to be still and know that He is God. Cease striving. You will never find God in the hustle and bustle. It’s in the silence and solitude that God speaks to us.

Slow down.

Leave a Reply

