God Is Up to It

There’s an old saying that runs along these lines: if it is to be, it is up to me.

Maybe that’s inspiring to some of you, but not to me. I don’t want it to be all up to me. Especially not before that all-important first cup of coffee in the morning.

I know my limits. I know that I am created in the image of God, yet I also know I am a fallen creature, affected by Adam’s sin just like everyone else (with the notable exception of Jesus, of course).

I’m not strong enough to bear the weight of so much responsibility. I don’t want it to be all up to me.

Today, I remembered a line I heard at Fellowship Bible Church some years ago that went like this: if it is to be, God is up to it.

That’s what I’m resting in and relying on tonight. There’s no scenario that will ever arise in my life where God won’t rise to the occasion and say, “Peace, my child. I’ve got this.”

My future is in much more dependable hands than mine.

If it is to be, He is up to it.

Leave a Reply

