Remembering May Day Six Years Later

When you go through deep waters,
    I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty,
    you will not drown.
When you walk through the fire of oppression,
    you will not be burned up;
    the flames will not consume you” (Isaiah 43:2, New Living Translation).

It’s hard to believe that it was six years ago that the historic 1000-year floods hit Nashville. I remember sitting in front of the television seeing news broadcasts featuring images that looked like they could have come from the latest disaster movie. It all seemed too surreal to be real.

I also recall not being able to go into work that day because of the flood waters that made the street out of my subdivision impassible.

Most of all, I remember that even though there was much property damage and even a few lives lost, we survived. In many ways, Nashville is better and stronger than it was six years ago.

For me, it continues to be a reminder that my real treasure isn’t here on Earth where thieves break in, where rust corrodes, and where flood waters destroy. My real treasure isn’t things. It’s people.

My most treasured possession is Jesus because I know that I am His. I am overwhelmed in a flood of a great affection that is stronger than my fear and doubt and shows no sign of abating. That’s still the love that keeps me going.

There is no famine or flood or fire that can separate me from God’s love in Jesus. There’s nothing at all that will keep Jesus from getting to where I am and meeting my deepest need at that moment.

The best news of all is that this love of God is still available to anyone who asks. This Jesus is still willing to come into the heart of anyone who seeks Him by faith. Remember that when those proverbial flood waters overwhelm you.

 

Leave a Reply

