One of Those Nights

“When trouble surrounded me, I cried out to the Eternal;
    He answered me and brought me to a wide, open space.
The Eternal is with me,
    so I will not be afraid of anything.
    If God is on my side, how can anyone hurt me?” (Psalm 118:5-6, The Voice).

So here I am at 10:30 with a mild headache and absolutely no idea of what to write about. It happens on occasion. So I supposed I’ll just make stuff up as I go.

It was a good night. I visited my usual favorite places in Franklin: McCreary’s Irish Pub, Kilwin’s, and St. Paul’s Episcopal Church. I got my 10,000 steps in. I took in all the fresh night air allowed by law and then some.

In St. Paul’s, I set the timer on my phone for 15 minutes of silence. I didn’t check my Facebook feed or any of the NCAA scores. I prayed some and sat in the dark some. It still amazes me how long 15 minutes can seem without some sort of distraction or amusement.

I walked down my favorite street and once again wished I could win the lottery or run into an inheritance so that I could buy one of those old houses. I just love old houses with character. Plus, I’d be so close to all the aforementioned favorite places.

It’s comforting to know that there’s nowhere I can go where God is not already there. There’s nothing that I can confess that He does not already know. There’s no fear or regret that He isn’t already aware of. There’s no future possibility that God can’t turn to my ultimate and lasting good. There’s not a time even in the darkest places and the loneliest times where God does not see and know where I am.

That’s a good thought to end this Saturday night.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

