Dear Friend

I saw you last Tuesday. I could tell by your swollen eyes that you were sad. To me, it was more than getting caught up in an emotional night of farewells. There was a story that your eyes were telling me that echoed deep sadness.

You may have felt untethered and lost. You probably have felt at times like you don’t belong anywhere anymore.

I wanted to remind you of a few things.

You are not the reflection staring back at you from the mirror after another long night of poor judgment and bad decisions. 

You are not what the voice of the accuser whispers to you in the dead watches of the night when there is nothing and no one to drown out his condemning voice.

You are not just a pretty face or a body.

Do you really understand how much at this moment your Abba Father cherishes and delights in you? 

Do you know that while you can never again be innocent, you are and will always remain forgiven?

Do you really grasp that how you see yourself in your very best moments falls far short of how Jesus sees you at every moment, all the time?

I believe in you. I believe in the future that God has for you that you can’t even begin to imagine or fathom. I’m rooting for you to get there.

I am now and shall always remain your friend.

PS This is loosely based on real people. This friend is a sort of composite of several people, some of which I know and some of which I dreamed up.

Leave a Reply

