My Musical Past 

I confess. My musical tastes over the years have been a seriously hit-and-miss affair. In fact, my musical choices have ranged from “Dude, you should seriously hear this” to “I know, I know, please don’t judge me.”

This is not about my embarrasing choices. There are plenty of those, but this is about what I got right, also known as what I still listen to currently.

1) Yes– This is artsy progressive rock at its best. The only difference these days is that I’m rocking remastered CDs versus old-school cassette tapes. The music is just as awesome.

2) The Grateful Dead– I had a copy of Skeletons from the Closet, their greatest hits back in the day. I distinctly remember seeing advertisements for their last studio album, Built to Last, which dropped on October 31, 1989. I am old-school. I’m going back and rediscovering them through their earlier albums, all of which make me think of my dear departed Uncle Bob, who also loved the Dead.

3) Genesis– Again, I had just about all their albums on cassette (well, all the Phil Collins-era albums, anyway). The older music is a lot more adventurous (and sometimes strange), but the later, more pop-y stuff gets me nostalgic for those years in Memphis as a kid.

4) Chicago– One of my first music purchases was their greatest hits cassette. I also had their 80’s albums, which now spund way more dated than their 70’s music. Still. Nothing takes me back like a good Chicago ballad.

5) XTC/Dukes of Stratosphear– A friend of mine made a copy of the band XTC who were a college rock band that made two albums under a different name that had a very late 60’s flair to them. I found both of them on CD recently.

There’s much, much more but that would keep me up way past my bedtime, so I’ll just leave you with this little sampling of some of my better musical choices as a youngster.

The end.

Leave a Reply

