Contentment

“I wish she would grow up. She wasted all her school time wanting to be the age she is now, and she’ll waste all the rest of her life trying to stay that age. He whole idea is to race on to the silliest time of one’s life as quick as she can and then stop there as long as she can” (C.S. Lewis, The Last Battle).

That refers to Susan, the second oldest of the Pevensie children and the only one not to end up in Narnia. There’s a lot of truth there.

The current culture values youth. Sometimes too much, I think. It seems like people are trying to live like they’re still in their 20’s when they’re well past that decade.

There’s nothing wrong with thinking and acting younger than you are, but there’s also great peace in being comfortable with who you are and where you are in life.

I for one would not want to go back to my 20’s. It was a great time, but I also happen to like who I am now way more than who I was then. I’m a lot more comfortable in my own skin and a lot more content.

The best place to be is fully content with who God made you to be, not trying to hold on to what’s past or longing for what yet may be, but fully present in the present and thankful for the gift of being alive.

I’m not 20-something. I’m not even 30-something. I’m 43 and I like it. I’m blessed to have made it this far and I’m realizing now just how much grace and mercy have carried me along. I’m seeing more and more how much there is to be thankful for in this life and how gratitude really does open your eyes to see more of God at work in you and around you.

I’m also not quite the night owl I used to be, so this will be my abrupt exit. Good night, sweet dreams, and God bless.

 

Leave a Reply

