Boxing Day 2015

“You are Father
of the fatherless
Friend
to the outcast
Restorer
of the broken
Liberator
of the captive
Rescuer
of the fallen
Lover
of creation.

You are the One
Whose Name we praise
Whose truth we proclaim
Whose life we live
You are our God
and we thank You.

Spirit of life
breathe on us
Spirit of truth
speak to us
Spirit of hope
inspire us
Spirit of power
work through us
today and all days.

Amen” (John Birch).

Here’s what I did on my Boxing Day.

  1. I spent nearly all of my gift cards and picked up some nifty loot. Some of it was expected, some of it was not. Here’s a sampling of what I got: The Hobbit: The Battle of Five Armies (Extended Edition), Road House (that 80’s movie with Patrick Swayze), and a Dave Brubeck Quartet CD,
  2. I wore shorts and sandals in December. It was over 70 degrees, so I dug those sandals out of the closet and wore them with pride.
  3. I got in my 10,000 steps. Actually, I got 11,653 steps (as of this writing).
  4. I visited all my favorite places in Historic Downtown Franklin (where I got most of those aforementioned steps in wearing those previously mentioned sandals).
  5. I took 10 minutes of silence in St. Paul’s Episcopal Church. You don’t realize how long those ten minutes can be until you force yourself to do absolutely nothing in that time but sit completely still and not look at any phones or tablets or watches.
  6. I took my iPad over to the Apple Store in the Cool Springs Galleria, thinking I could zip in and get it looked at and zip back out. In hindsight, that was poor planning on my part, considering that this is the day after Christmas when everyone in the surrounding five zip codes goes to the mall. The estimated wait time was 2 1/2 hours, so I decided to call it a loss and come back later. As in after the new year kind of later.
  7. I had quality therapy time with Lucy the Wonder Cat providing her usual affordable services by curling up in my lap and falling asleep. It’s amazing how calming those sleepy 15-year old (and soon to be 16-year old) cats can be.

I think that wraps up this Boxing Day rather nicely. Note: there was no actual boxing (or watching of boxing) involved, so you can rest easy.

 

Leave a Reply

