Loving Your Enemies

  
There is a powerful photograph floating around the interwebs. It shows a young black woman shielding a young white man from attackers.

What the wonan did seems more brave when you realize that the man she’s protecting is a member of the Ku Klux Klan with a Nazi swastika tattoo in his arm. She’s literally protecting her enemy.

I think of the verse in Romans 5 that says that while we were yet sinners, opposed to everything God is for, Christ died for us.

I can think of precious few people I’d die for. None of them are enemies. Yet that’s precisely what Jesus did for me when I was His enemy.

The enmity was always all on my side. Jesus never did anything but love me and show that love repeatedly.

Maybe that means I should try harder to love those who don’t like me. Maybe even those who get on my nerves from time to time.

The Bible is fairly clear on that matter. Love your enemies.

It’s not humanly possible, but with God all things are possible. With Jesus’ love in you flowing through you, it can be done.

The end. 

Leave a Reply

