Taste of the Goodness of God

When I needed the Lord, I looked for Him;
    I called out to Him, and He heard me and responded.
He came and rescued me from everything that made me so afraid.
Look to Him and shine,
    so shame will never contort your faces.
This poor soul cried, and the Eternal heard me.
    He rescued me from my troubles.
The messenger of the Eternal God surrounds
    everyone who walks with Him and is always there to protect and rescue us.
Taste of His goodness; see how wonderful the Eternal truly is.
    Anyone who puts trust in Him will be blessed and comforted.
Revere the Eternal, you His saints,
    for those who worship Him will possess everything important in life.
Young lions may grow tired and hungry,
    but those intent on knowing the Eternal God will have everything they need” (Psalm 34:4-10, The Voice).

He came and rescued me from everything that made me so afraid.

Those were the words I read as I sat in solitary darkness in St. Paul’s Episcopal Church on a very autumn-esque Friday evening.

I could not have asked for a better night after a long week of working and not sleeping well. It was refreshing to breathe in the October night air and take in the sights of one of my favorite places to visit.

I managed to hit all my usual haunts– McCreary’s, Kilwin’s, St. Paul’s, and Frothy Monkey. I even took a stroll down my favorite street and donated a few books to the very tiny portable library.

It’s now 10:02 pm and I am pooped. Maybe that means I’m old. At this point, hitting all the clubs and bars until 3 am doesn’t appeal to me in the least. It never has. Not even when I was in my early 20’s.

My most appealing fantasy right now is the thought of being able to turn off the alarm and sleep in tomorrow. No 5:30 am wake-up call, no setting off for work in the dark, and especially no rising before I am good and ready.

So there you go. My life is good, because God is good.

The end.

Leave a Reply

