Another Exciting Chapter in My Continuing Adventures at McKay’s

  
“Some luck lies in not getting what you thought you wanted but getting what you have, which once you have it you may be smart enough to see is what you would have wanted had you known” (Garrison Keillor).

I made yet another trek over to McKay’s Used Books and Music today, since I was already in the area. It made my nerdy little heart happy.

I had a few things in mind that I wanted to look for when I walked through those double doors. Some I found, like a couple of Ryan Adams albums. Some I didn’t. And there were one or two finds that I wasn’t expecting that ended up in my basket.

I’ve found that life is quite often like that. You expect one thing and end up with something very different. Maybe it doesn’t look at all like what you wanted or thought you so desperately needed, but it turns out to be way better for you than what you would have chosen if you had the option.

The life of faith is like that. You pray for gifts and God gives you Himself. Instead of presents, you get His presence. That’s way better than any gift.

Also, I’ve discovered that the best blessings in life are the ones we never expected. God has led me to places and people that I wouldn’t have dreamed of, but that have made me a better, more Christlike man because of them.

I’m not saying not to have expectations but to place those expectations in the very capable hands of a Loving Father. If anything, expect that God will act on your behalf at just the right time and in just the right way.

One thought on “Another Exciting Chapter in My Continuing Adventures at McKay’s

Leave a Reply

