My Bracket’s Got a Hole In it (But It’s Not Busted Yet)

So far, so good. Not great, but good.

The last time I checked, I picked 72.6% of the winners correctly on the best bracket out of the ten I filled out for ESPN. The worst? Lagging behind at 1.4%. I couldn’t have done much worse if I had picked blind-folded or settled the games by flipping a coin (which I actually did for one of my brackets).

At this point, my chances of taking home the top prize for best bracket are the same as my Tennessee Titans winning the Super Bowl next year. Not good. But I still had fun and hopefully learned how to pick better in the future. And I found out yet again why I don’t need to pursue professional betting as a career.

But you will lose on 100% of the brackets that you never fill out. The guy whose bracket had 16 seed Hampton winning it all did better than the guy who had all the right teams picked in his head but never committed to pen and paper (or mouse and keyboard).

In life, you will miss out on 100% of the chances you didn’t take. I’ve found out the hard way more than once.

If I could go back, I’d probably make a few changes. But I’m satisfied with my brackets (none of which have officially busted as of this moment, 10:40 pm CST on March 27, 2015). I also believe that it’s never too late to start taking those proverbial leaps of faith and risks. Just because you were timid and afraid in the past doesn’t mean that you have to be that way in the future.

Just out of curiosity, what’s the best upset pick you’ve ever gotten right? I seem to remember once picking a 15 seed to knock off a 2 seed back in the day, but I can’t remember who it was and I have no proof that it happened. I recall it might have been Coppin State over South Carolina, but then again, I may have dreamed that episode.

 

One thought on “My Bracket’s Got a Hole In it (But It’s Not Busted Yet)

  1. Pingback: My Bracket's Got a Hole In it (But It's Not Busted Yet) | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

