Breaking Bread Together

I don’t know about you, but for me food always tastes better when it’s shared with those you care about. I can have pizza by myself and it will taste good, but the same pizza shared with family is better. Best of all is sharing a meal with those you haven’t seen in a while.

On a side note, I’m trying to eat less bread and sugar, so I don’t literally break bread as often. And so far I’ve lost 8 pounds, so it seems to be working. Plus, I can actually get the top button on my dress shirt to fasten without gagging myself. That’s a plus.

I do believe Jesus was on to something when He told us to break bread together in remembrance of Him. It’s more than a bunch of individuals remembering Jesus and the cross in the same room. Somehow, the remembering and its significance becomes more poignant and meaningful when it is shared and experienced together.

Plus, even those little wafers and that thimble of grape juice taste better when taken together with fellow pilgrims and strangers called the body of Christ, the family of God.

Leave a Reply

