My Friday

I had a rather uneventful Friday. I spent most of it hanging out with three very gentle and sweet dogs that I’m currently house-sitting for. Two of them were scared of me when I first took care of them a couple of years ago, but both of them have warmed up to me since. I’m their Uncle Greg now.

Some animals (and people) just need a little more TLC before they come around. Sometimes all you need is patience and kindness to win them over. It doesn’t always work 100% of the time, but when it does work, it does sure feel good.

I did manage to make a rare trek to McKay’s Used Bookstore, my personal nirvana. I traded in some movies and got in return 1) Captain America: The First Avenger on blu ray, 2) The Walking Dead on blu ray, and 3) Bob Dylan’s Tempest, his 2012 album. I call that a win. And I have $4.04 left in store credit.

I ended up my night by watching an old BBC production of a Lord Peter Wimsey murder mystery, entitled Strong Poison and based off the novel by Dorothy L. Sayers. It wasn’t as thrilling as your Friday night probably was, but it worked for me.

It was a good day. My old pastor’s favorite verse was “This is the day that the Lord has made; I will rejoice and be glad in it.” That’s good enough reason for me.

Leave a Reply

