Bob Dylan on the Brain

saved bob dylan

I’ve been listening to a lot of Bob Dylan lately. As a sort of challenge to myself, I decided to listen to his albums in order starting from his eponymous debut in 1962. Currently, I’ve got his 1980 album Saved playing in my car.

It’s interesting to see how he evolved from a traditional folk singer into something much harder to define. He had his folk-rock era, his country era, his singer-songwriter era, and his gospel era. That’s as far as I’ve gotten. And I’m fairly certain at this point he’d rather not be pigeon-holed into any kind of genre or musical style.

I do like his Christian albums. Both the ones I listened to were recorded and produced in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, which has a very rich musical history. I recommend the documentary about that town and its music.

I’m not going to speculate about whether those albums were a phase or he had a genuine conversion experience. Only he and God know that. I will go on record (pun intended) to say that he made some really great music during that time, in my humble opinion.

My Bob Dylan pilgrimage will end with the latest album of his that I own, his 2009 record, Together Through Life. I don’t have the last two he recorded.

What’s the point of all this? That I like Bob Dylan? That I’m a big musical nerd? That I have too much free time on my hands? Yes, yes, and yes.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bob Dylan on the Brain

  1. Bob Dylan, to me, seems to be our generation’s answer to our society that Wood Guthrie was to his – people who tell me that Bob Dylan can’t really sing…I always answer by saying but that’s not really the point….all his music seems to have a trace of his faith in God – love – peace – so I agree with you – I don’t think his christian music was just a phase – just a time he really focused on it intently. If you are a Bob Dylan “nerd” than I must surely be a member of your club! 🙂

Leave a Reply

