It’s Not Us Against Them

“We’re not waging war against enemies of flesh and blood alone. No, this fight is against tyrants, against authorities, against supernatural powers and demon princes that slither in the darkness of this world, and against wicked spiritual armies that lurk about in heavenly places. And this is why you need to be head-to-toe in the full armor of God: so you can resist during these evil days and be fully prepared to hold your ground” (Ephesians 6:12-13).

It’s not about us versus them. It’s not about us Republicans voting those meddling Democrats out of office or visa versa. It’s not conservative versus liberal, right-wing versus left-wing. It’s about fighting against the evil spiritual forces in the heavenlies. And who does the fighting? God does.

What does the Bible say in regards to us versus them? Love your enemies. Pray for those who persecute you. Yes, speak out against evil but remember that the source of that evil isn’t human. It’s demonic.

Too many times it’s about me proving that I’m right rather than engaging in honest dialogue and actually listening to what the other person has to say. And it’s best to speak the truth with humility rather than in pride, remembering that any truth that I know didn’t come to me because of my intelligence or good looks or wit. It came because God chose to reveal it to me.

That’s my random take for the day. I leave it up to you to figure out how to apply it to real-life.

 

One thought on “It’s Not Us Against Them

  1. I have come to learn that listening to my enemies and loving them, does not mean I need to change them or “win” them over to my way of thinking – the bible does not say we must change our enemies – just love them – I think God can and will take care of that! Good word – God bless

Leave a Reply

