Gotta Go Back in Time

Digital-speedometer

So tonight Kairos was different.

The worship was stellar as usual. The teaching from Mike Glenn was spot-on. There was a full crowd per the norm. Then how, you ask, was it different?

Kairos took place tonight in Wilson Hall instead of Hudson Hall, where it is normally held. As in the Wilson Hall which hosted Kairos from its inception in 2004 through April of 2009.

For me it was like stepping out of that famous Delorean into 2008. It was weird how seeing the coffee and snacks in the lobby instantly conjured up old feelings. And not just any old feelings. I could remember exactly what I was feeling and thinking back then. The only thing missing were the people– there were very few of us in there who were there during the first go-round. That also means that a new group of people got to experience the magic of Wilson Hall.

I’m not saying I’d want to go back. I’m content with where I am now. Who knows how different things would turn out if I went back with what I know now and tried to change things?

This may not be the ideal future I envisioned for myself way back when, but this is where I’m supposed to be. This is where God has put me and where I find His provision for my need delivered at just the perfect moment when I need it most. This is where God promised that His plans for me were not for harm, but for hope and a bright future.

I found this benediction in a book I was reading today that seemed fitting to close this post:

“You go nowhere by accident.
Wherever you go, God is sending you.
Wherever you are, God has put you there; He has a purpose in your being there.
Christ who indwells you has something He wants to do through you where you are.
Believe this and go in His grace and love and power” (Dr. Richard Halverson).

 

Leave a Reply

