Christmas Eve at Radnor Lake

image

“I need a silent night, a holy night
To hear an angel voice through the chaos and the noise
I need a midnight clear, a little peace right here
To end this crazy day with a silent night” (Chris Eaton/ Amy Grant).

I had some last minute Christmas shopping to do, so I hit some of the stores. I stopped by Brilliant Sky to pick up some gifts for my nephews, then I headed over to TJ Maxx for something for my grandmother.

Every year I say that next year I won’t wait until the last day to buy my presents and when that next year becomes this year, I always end up shopping on December 24. So in 2015 . . .

Anyway, I had one more stop– the Christmas Eve service at my church.

Seeing as how I was going to be REALLY early, I decided to make one detour. I stopped off at Radnor Lake for a bit. It really was a very spontaneous decision, literally made as I was pulling to the stop light where I turn to go to the park.

I think I was one of only a handful of people there. It was very peaceful and quiet. Very calming for my mind. I was reminded why Jesus so often went to a solitary place to pray.

I thought I heard sleigh bells behind me for a minute, but it turned out it was the jingle of some dog’s harness. Apparently, the owner thought it would be a good idea to take the dog jogging on Christmas Eve. I could tell the dog probably had different ideas of how to have a good time and celebrate the holiday.

I was only there for 20 minutes, but it did me a world of good. I just needed a bit of silence in my day.

 

Leave a Reply

