What true beauty looks like (from a guy’s perspective)

grace kelly

This may get me into trouble. I’m venturing out beyond my comfort zone into uncharted territory for me as a man. I am probably way out of my league on this, but here’s what I believe about true feminine beauty. So read it with a dash of salt and a touch of grace (or more like a whole heaping handful of grace).

True beauty is more about character than cosmetics. Instead of putting on the latest fashion, it’s about putting on “compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline. Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to forgive an offense. Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you. And regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It’s your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it” (Colossians 3:12).” Some questions I would ask any woman who wants to be known for her beauty are: 1) How do you treat those who are different than you? 2) Do you go out of your way to associate with those who are not in your social circles, and possibly beneath you in terms of societal rankings? 3) Have you given of yourself to someone you know will never be able to repay you?

In my opinion, true beauty means a woman need not always try to prove or justify herself. It means that she knows who she is, or better yet Whose she is. That she is a daughter of the King, a princess and knows how to act like one. It means that if I ever want to pursue and court her, I must treat her like the princess and child of God she is. True beauty means that if I took her and turned her over, I would see God’s signature as proof of her priceless worth (and yes, that one came from Mike Glenn, not me. Gotta give props where props are due!)

Charm is deceitful and beauty of the outer kind is vain and fleeting. But fearing the Lord is what makes a woman lovely. I have always thought that Grace Kelly was one of the most beautiful women ever, and I think it’s because you see gentleness and kindness in her eyes.

I’ve changed a lot in my views about what makes a woman beautiful. Now I think what makes her beautiful is her transparency, where Christ shines brightest through her. That’s what I want in a wife. That and a sense of humor, cause she’s pretty much gonna need it with me. And maybe Rachel Ray’s cooking skills. Ok, that last part was a joke. Maybe.

I’ve probably got a whole lot to learn about this topic, but I hope I’ve made a good start. Which is always being willing to admit how little you know about what you thought you had all figured out. That’s where I am.

3 thoughts on “What true beauty looks like (from a guy’s perspective)

  1. I’m glad to see you sharing about what makes a woman truly beautiful. Your posts are almost always encouraging, challenging, and full of wisdom–and this one is no different. It’s nice to have even one small voice standing against the demands that we feel, as women, to look a certain way. However, I have to wonder why, if you truly feel this way, I see a post each day on FB about your “celebrity lover” (complete with a picture) asking if I think you make a good couple. Many of those women are incredibly beautiful in appearance, but often unhealthy physically and spiritually. It just seems like an odd combination to promote both.   

  2. I love this. I don’t think it will get you in trouble with the ladies either…it’s full of very sound Biblical teaching from Proverbs and the pen of the Apostle Paul. Well, except for the thing about cooking skills like Rachel Ray, but then I have to believe that even Paul and King Solomon liked a well-cooked meal now and then!

  3. This reminds me of the first time I met a husband and wife. I was immediately struck by his good looks and by her plainness. I couldn’t help wondering how the two got together. They became good friends and it wasn’t long before I was wondering why I had ever thought her plain. She was one of the most beautiful women I’ve known. Sure, her beauty came from within, from her personality and character and from her loving, caring nature, but it shone brightly.

    If you find a wife as beautiful on the inside as she was, you’ll do well.

Leave a Reply

