My first ever blog (tah-dah!)

This is my first ever blog! WOOHOO!

By the way, the name of the blog comes from The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning, who is pretty much my favorite writer right now. In case you were wondering.

I think that there are two essentials in the faith. These come from James 1:27. “Anyone who sets himself up as “religious” by talking a good game is self-deceived. This kind of religion is hot air and only hot air. Real religion, the kind that passes muster before God the Father, is this: Reach out to the homeless and loveless in their plight, and guard against corruption from the godless world.” (from the Message translation) These are compassion and integrity.

Integrity is keeping yourself unstained by the world, and compassion is reaching out to the orphans and widows (or in our society, the homeless and loveless). We need both of these. Jesus had both during His earthly ministry. He was sinless and kept the law perfectly, but He reached out to society’s castaways and showed the world what the grace of God looks like.

How does that play out in real life? I am trying to figure that out myself. But I know I need both, so I try to live both.

5 thoughts on “My first ever blog (tah-dah!)

  1. I need to read “The Ragamuffin Gospel” – I’ve had several friends tell me it changed their lives.

    I think there is one essential to faith in addition to compassion and integrity, and that is courage. Without courage, one might not always be brave enough to do the right thing (integrity) or to love the unlovable (compassion).

    Great post – keep them coming!!!

  2. I couldn’t be more excited that my brother if finally sharing his beautiful mind with others. Please post often, brother, and share your heart of Christ with us!

  3. Pingback: My 1,700th Blog (Ta-da!) | Ragamuffingospelfan's Blog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.